My Precious, My Precious

I don’t know about you, but this time of year always means one thing for certain.  It means I am going to be holed up in my room, wrapped up in layers upon layers of blankets, watching back to back viewings of Lord of the Rings.

I’ve thought it a million times but I know in my heart of hearts that I would make the perfect hobbit.  I love food, I love drink, and I love food.  Simple is practically my middle name so I just know the hobbit life is for me.

mulledwine4

It seems fitting then that Mulled Wine be the drink of choice for this hobbit this holiday season.

Keeping in line with my mission to make NIgella Lawson my BFF by cooking through her cookbook, I’ve taken her recipe and added a few ingredients.

mulledwine

Ingredients (Serves 4-6)

– 1.5 cups of Apple Cider or Apple Juice
– 2 bottles of wine
– 1 orange sliced into half moons
– 2 tablespoons of sugar
– Cinnamon powder
– 2 cinnamon sticks
– 4 cloves
– 1 vanilla bean

mulledwine2

Like I always say – there’s no shame in using boxed wine even if it’s the cheapest one available because if I can liquor up double the amount of friends for half the amount of money, I will never say no.  Tis the season.

Directions

1.) Warm the apple cider.

2.) Siice vanilla bean down centre and scape insides into apple cider.

3.) Add cinnamon sticks, cloves, sugar, and vanilla bean. Sprinkle cinnamon powder in.

4.) Toss in orange slices.

5.) Warm for a couple of minutes.

6.) Add half your box of wine.

7.) Simmer for 5-10 minutes.

Meg Tip:  Let your mulled wine cool down slightly before serving unless overpowering notes of ethanol is your jam.  But real talk, the wine is much lovelier to drink once it’s cooled down a bit.

Drink and share in merriment like a true hobbit.

One thought on “My Precious, My Precious

Leave a Reply

