Show Me Love (Sapporo Ramen Shogun)

I’ll say it once, I’ll say it a million times – show me love and I’m your girl.

In a world where customer service is fast becoming a dying art and the tipping regime is getting outta control, it’s hard to blame a girl for falling for Shogun who treats her right.

Even if the food errs on the side of subpar and the sushi is almost inedible, welcoming attitudes, happy spirits, and most especially, free appetizers go a long way.

Creeping into the restaurant for a late lunch at 2pm, we have the owner’s friendly assurances that he’s waiving the normal charge of $1.50 Miso Soup and Kimchi for us.

shogun3

Free spicy preserved vegetable seems the perfect way to break up a work day but throw in some complimentary Deep Fried Wontons, and you have my heart forever.

shogun

Our crispy wontons are stuffed with bite sized pieces of shrimp and while they tend to be lacklustre on their own, are improved once dunked into the sweet and sour sauce.

Already half way to full, it’s hard to believe we haven’t even paid for anything yet.

That is, until the featuring acts arrive.  In a game of Who’s Udon Reigns Supreme, it’s sister versus sister at lunch today.

shogun4

Amanda’s Chicken Teriyaki Udon versus my Ginger Beef Udon.

It doesn’t happen often and as much as it kills me to admit it, the other sister was the better sister this afternoon.  Her squishy udon and chunky chicken swimming in a pool of sweet teriyaki sauce vastly outweighs my peppery, bland, and boring noodles.

shogun2

Let’s call a spade a spade – both dishes were not great but it’s hard to complain when the owner is basically Winnie the Pooh who takes you in with open arms and essentially offers you half of the items on his menu for free.

First rate service, would I return?

Shogun showed me love, Shogun showed me life, Shogun showed me what it’s all about.  Alright.

And let’s not forget the importance of location because when grabbing a quick lunch means I only have to walk about half a step to get there, I’m a happy camper.

Just under $10 a person with enough free food to make you feel like you’re robbing the place, if this place does anything right, it’s customer service.  Based on that alone, I know I’ll be back.

Avoid the sushi, order the teriyaki udon, and stick to the ramen, you’re home free.

Sapporo Ramen Shogun on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

