It’s Getting Harder and Harder to Breathe (Nook)

When it gets cold outside and you got nobody to love
You’ll understand what I mean when I say
There’s no way we’re gonna give up

Is there anyone out there cause it’s getting harder and harder to breathe.

Seriously, can anybody help me because I really can’t breathe.  One pizza, two pastas, and a tiramisu later, I’m not being dramatic when I say I was knocked out for two entire days after dinner at Nook.

When your entire existence and emotional well-being revolves almost solely around food, this is a huge problem.  And yet, I regret nothing.

I do blame Daphne though.  Because only a real friend, true blue, bosom buddy will sit there with you and plow through an unnatural amount of carbohydrates in a twenty minute span and live to tell the tale.  And what a grueling tale it is.

nook

A favourite of mine, Nook is one of those special places that you want to keep as your little secret while also shouting to the world about because with pizza as lovely as this, it’s hard to know what to do with yourself.

One thing’s for certain, whenever you’re in doubt the answer is always put an egg on it.  Don’t stop there because you’re gonna want to add pancetta too and even though it might be $4 per add on, you’ll understand when I whisper lovingly in your ear,” Worth it, so worth it.”

Ricotta Pizza with spinach, roasted garlic, an egg, and pancetta can only be described as the best decision I’ve made possibly ever.  Crusty on the outside, fluffy on the inside with gobs of creamy ricotta cheese and garlic scattered throughout then made only creamier by the added yolk, I can’t blame myself for only stopping after I’d eaten my entire half of the pizza.

nook3

When it comes to pasta, it’s gotta be the Rigatoni Boscaiola.  With my favourite things all together in one dish, it’s no wonder this has quickly become my old standby.

Al Dente rigatoni, sundried tomatoes, mushrooms, and proscuitto tossed in a light cream sauce, each bite is a little gift from the world telling you that sometimes, you deserve good things in life.

nook2

The only thing that might have been better than the rigatoni was the Fettucine with Pancetta and Kale in a Butternut Squash Cream Sauce.

Comforting butternut squash cream with a subtle sweetness combined with the saltiness of the pancetta and the perfectly chewy fettucine, it is with heavy heart that I inform you that this pasta is not a permanent feature.  Only a daily special, this news is enough to make me weep.

nook4

This heartbreaking revelation can only be eased by the soft and tender touch of Nook’s made in house Tiramisu.  Like a dream, this pillowy soft dessert with its delicate sweetness is enough to mend just about any heartache.

TKO’d but with enough happy memories to last me a lifetime, would I return to Nook?

I do, I do, I do.

Prices tend to be on the more expensive side with pizzas and pastas at around $18 each on average, it’s not exactly a cheap date.

But with its intimate vibe and 80’s music, it is the place to go if you’re looking for a Date Night, Ladies Night and most especially, my favourite of all – Fat Night.

Nook on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

