I’ll Make a Man Out of You (Chong Qing)

Tranquil as a Forest,
But on Fire Within
Once you Find Your Centre,
You are Sure to Win.

You can bet your lifesavers you’ll be on fire within during a meal at Chong Qing but you can also bet you’ll be winning the entire time.

A long time favourite of mine, I’m not sure why it took me two unsuccessful tries before deciding to end up here but it doesn’t matter because end up here I did.  And as a little known man I like to call Bruce Lee once said, “The successful warrior is the average man, with laser-like focus.”

With my laser-like focus on seizing and conquering the dim sum dumpling, well this average man became the most successful of warriors this past Sunday.

cqingGiant Pork Shiu Mai, while not a surefire hit and slightly bland, were juicy and meaty.

cqing5

And don’t even get me started on these Taro and Scallop Dumplings because you know that whenever you’ve got warm taro and ground pork melded together in delightful harmony and then encapsulated by a light flakey deep fried shell, I will lose it like a fourteen year old girl at a One Direction concert.

But let’s get down to business.  To defeat the Huns.

I think we all know the real reason we’re here, but if you haven’t got a clue, don’t worry.  Somehow, I’ll make a man out of you.

cqing4

This is what we’re here for, this is what we want – Wontons with Red Pepper and Peanut Sauce.  So deliciously rich and creamy, you won’t know what to do with yourself.  Savoury, sweet, and spicy all at once, you just need to sit back and ride the meaty mounded wave of life.

And then wait for it to hit you because believe me, it’s gonna hit you hard.  A slow creep at first until bam, your mouth is on fire.  The refreshing spinach eases the spice only slightly but you’re torn because on one hand it feels like the fire-pits of Mordor have taken hold in the very depths of your mouth and on the other, you’re basking in bliss.

Love, cherish, and preserve the peanut sauce for it is but once in a lifetime that we come across a thing so beautiful as this. Decorate your dumplings, meat, rice – basically anything you can find – in it because trust me, you will be kicking yourself hours later for leaving even a drop behind.

cqing2While we’re at it and since we’re not nearly sweaty enough, it’s time to dig into the Tan Tan Noodles with Deep Fried Pork Chops.

A milder soup version of the peanut sauce that the wontons were rolling in, these chewy noodles arrive steaming hot with a tasty side of crisp and moist chunks of pork.

If you’re one of the lucky ones with enough friends to justify more food, my best advice to you is to also order their famous Ginger Beef because you can be sure that it is a good time.

Mouth on fire, would I return?

I might be be sweating, I might be crying, and I might even be bleeding but when all of this costs me under $40 with leftovers to boot, we must be swift as a coursing river.  With all the force of a great typhoon and with all the strength of a raging fire, mysterious as the dark side of the moon, we must be a man.

Szechuan Chongqing 重慶大飯店 on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

