Wax On, Wax Off (Shiro Japanese Restaurant)

Wax On, Wax Off.  Wax on.  Wax off.  Sand the floor.  Paint the fence.

Mr. Miyagi, is that you?

No, it was not Mr. Miyagi, but once you stroll into Shiro’s Japanese Restaurant, you’ll understand why Shiro had me feeling a little like Daniel-San in 1980s Reseda, Los Angeles.  It’s not every day you get to take it back to the basics and have your sushi served to you fresh and unaccompanied by pools of multiple mystery sauces.

shiro7

An inconspicuous little Japanese restaurant on Cambie, I can’t believe it’s taken me 26 years to discover this gem of a place. Shiro, where have you been all my life?

shiro4

Like any sensible Karate Kid will tell you, the only way to kick off  an authentic Japanese meal is to sip on some Miso Soup and with miso like this, you’re in good hands.  Packing a killer punch, my soup was ultra flavourful with a velvety texture and generous amounts of bite sized pieces of tofu.  Seaweed would have been nice but life is about give and take sometimes.

shiro3

In the spririt of #tbt and #fbf, if you really want to throw it back, you’ve gotta order up a Salmon Maki and a California Roll.  Made with real crab, it’s a bizarre sensation to realize you’re eating a California Roll that’s not dripping in mayo, but you know what – it’s quite lovely.

And when your Salmon Roll is made with fresh salmon that has a healthy pink hue, I realize I might just be a changed woman.

shiro

My pride and joy, my plump beauties, the apples of my eye – these three Nigiri carefully and cautiously handpicked by yours truly were the main event for me and they did not disappoint.

Toro, Massago, and Chopped Scallop.  And a Quail Egg to boot because life is hard and I deserve it.

With fatty melt in your mouth tuna belly, tasty massago, and juicy chunks of scallop rolled in mayo, you’ll be hard-pressed to find fault in these little rice nuggets of happiness.

shiro2

Aji Tataki, Shiro’s special of the day and my most risqué decision all week, was an exotic adventure for the senses.  Fresh, firm, and served with a refreshingly zesty dipping sauce, this sashimi was a nice departure from the classic salmon and tuna standbys.

The fish on its own didn’t have much of any sort of distinct flavour so be sure to take advantage of the sauce, horseradish ice, and lemon if you’re looking for a real zing.

shiro5

A wise man named Kid Cudi once said, “Everything that shines ain’t always gonna be gold,” and so was the case with my Tuna Karaage.   Easily the weakest link in our meal, the tuna dry, bland, and boring.  It pains me to say that I even had to leave the last few remaining pieces behind.

Fuller, wiser, and ready to make Mr. Miyagi proud, would I return?

Two words – Free.  Pocky.

shiro6

Complimentary pocky upon paying the bill, quality fish, and moderate prices with everything coming to just under $45, I think we all know the answer here.

Say it with me friends – Domo Arigato,  Mr. Robato.  Also, yes, yes I would return.

Shiro on Urbanspoon

5 thoughts on “Wax On, Wax Off (Shiro Japanese Restaurant)

  1. I remember coming here as a kid with my Japanese aunt, who really loved this place. After reading your review, I want to come back. The only other place I know that gives out free pocky afterwards is Petite Saigon on Hastings.

Leave a Reply

