Tonight We Feast (Andreas Restaurant)

Tomorrow we feast and in fact, I’m not sure that the feast ever stops at Andreas because for two to dine under $50, the food just keeps on coming.

They don’t make restaurants like this anymore.  From the slightly dingy interiors and blinding neon signs to the man urinating outside directly in our line of vision, stepping into Andreas is like stepping into a golden era.  You might think me low classy for saying what I’m about to say but I’m not ashamed.

And sometimes, wouldn’t you just like to get away?

Sometimes you want to go where everybody knows your name.  And they’re always glad you came.  You wanna be where you can see, our troubles are all the same.  You wanna be where everybody knows your name.

But perhaps even more than that, you want to go to a place where you can share a Seafood Platter for two complete with lobster tails, Alaskan King Crab, prawns, more prawns, bacon wrapped scallop, calamari and a whack of sides for only $100.

This is a deal if I ever heard one, but since this was just a regular old Saturday night for me, I couldn’t justify the lavish purchase.  No, I’ll save that for my wedding.

andreas

Instead, for under $8, I got myself a generous serving of calamari.  While not the best quality pieces of squid, crisp and golden with a tasty batter, you won’t hear me complaining.

andreas3

Just when you think your meal choice couldn’t make you happier, you realize you’re wrong because guess what – your main course also includes a free house salad.  Never content with just the standard, I seize the opportunity to switch out the house for a Caesar Salad.

If ever you were looking for a more inauthentic Caesar Salad, you need not look any further because this is as inauthentic as it gets, and I just can’t get enough.  Swimming in gobs of dressing, croutons, and sprinkled with plenty of parmesan cheese, I was about two seconds way from throwing all common decency out the window and licking the bottom of my plate.

andreas4

Even though by this point in the game, you’re likely 3/4 of your way to full, it’s time for the meal you actually came to eat.

Barbecue Chicken and Ribs and Baked Lasagna for me, and the Top Sirloin steak and Baked Lasagna for Wayne.

We should probably just address the elephant in the room right now and be real with each other.  Meat quality isn’t something to write home to your mother about but when your mother is Asian and knows a good deal when she sees one, you’ll be singing a different tune.

The chicken and ribs, drenched in a sweet tangy barbecue sauce, are decently juicy and the steak with a nice char are accompanied by Onion Rings and Mushrooms.

andreas2

Bubbling hot and smothered under pools of tomato sauce and layers of melting cheese, my hearty lasagne is the perfect partner to any kind of meat.  A pinch of seasoning wouldn’t hurt but the sight of all this food makes me so happy that I don’t even care.

So happy in fact that I don’t even realize till five minutes after we’ve pulled out of our parking spot that they’d forgotten to serve us our complimentary garlic bread.  I won’t lie, that realization stung a little but I healed quickly and let’s be honest, they probably did this fatty a favour anyway.

Would I return?

Andreas, you complete me.  Without you, I’m a shell of a human being.

You can’t beat prices like $17 for chicken and ribs or $15 for a steak and with such warm and friendly service, I’ll never let you go.

Andrea, you just get me.

Andreas on Urbanspoon

6 thoughts on “Tonight We Feast (Andreas Restaurant)

Leave a Reply

