Hangover Don’t (Chambar)

Also don’t if you’re a person that values hearing and conversating over your Sunday morning brunch.

At the risk of sounding like a geriatric grandmother with this next statement, I’m about to say it anyway.  I like to get down and boogie just as much as the next person but it’s hard to enjoy your lazy Sunday brekky when the music around you is blaring to the point that you can’t hear the person shouting next to you.

And if you’re hungover and recovering from a rager the night before, you can forget about it because you might as well go and run your head through the washing machine.

Even if you’re an evolved being like me and spent your Saturday night watching The Mindy Project on loop with stringy hair in your face in nothing but your fat pants, you might find it a struggle to get through brunch at Chambar with your sanity intact.

I’m not above admitting that I had to ask the server to lower the volume of music, a request to which she kindly obliged.

Chambar4

First order of business – Vanilla Latte.  With a dreamy heart folded into the silky foam, my latte is the perfect accompaniament to the bright and airy dining room downstairs.

An emphasis on the upscale, this isn’t your traditional brunch so if you’re looking for eggs benny and hash, think again.

In the absence of hollandaise smothered eggs, I opted for the Friccasse.

Chambar

Braised short ribs, balsamic cipollini onions, potatoes, watercress, fried eggs, applewood smoked cheddar – this dish should have been a no brainer but reality so often never matches our dreams and expectations.  Such is life.

It’s hard to believe such an innovative sounding dish could turn out so boring and even though the eggs were well executed, I was bored.  Resembling a stew, the ribs were overcooked and slightly chewy while the onion and potato mixture was bland.

But cheer up Charlie, things start to look up when you save half and bring the rest of your meal home because if cram your leftovers into a tiny tupperware container and let it marinate for the next 20 hours, your meal miraculously tastes at least doubly better.

Chambar2

What the fricassee lacks, the Brochette De Porc makes up for in taste. Fluffy scrambled eggs substituted for fried eggs and livened by spiced pototaes and a tomatillo and pineapple salsa, the obvious main event here is the barbecued bacon, mortadella, and andouille.

It’s hard to go wrong with meat on a stick and Chambar does a decent job here with their assortment of savoury meat treats.

They say second chances are hard to come by so we need to make em count and I knew this time I couldn’t let the waffle slip between my fingers, not like last time at their sister resto, Cafe Medina.

For $3.15 plus $1 a topping, you can get yourself a petite waffle and dipping sauce.

Chambar3

The White Chocolate Pistachio Rosewater Sauce instantly called out to me and I knew it had to be mine. The rosewater adds a peculiar element to an otherwise basic but oh so sweet white chocolate syrup and while it wasn’t bad, I cannot without a doubt say I would order it again.

The waffle, with its soft fluffy texture, was almost reminiscent of a sweet Chinese bun and who could ever hate one of those?

As an 80 year old lady with some admittedly OCD tendencies, would I return?

I can’t say I didn’t like it, but I didn’t like it. We all have our off days and I suspect that’s what this past Sunday was. At $17 for my fricassee and $16 for the meat stick, brunch prices are fair at Chambar.

It doesn’t happen often, but I would be willing to give it another shot. Unlikely to be anytime in the near future and I most definitely would reconsider ordering the fricassee because I’m certain the paella is where it is at, but the future is a vast, never-ending mystery and who knows where life will take any of us.

Chambar on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Hangover Don’t (Chambar)

  1. I agree, I don’t like it when music is so loud at restaurants and you can’t even hear your own conversation! Save that for the club please.

Leave a Reply

