Mom Knows Best (Mom’s Grilled Cheese Truck)

Video Credit: Karan Dhani

As much as I hate to admit this, moms just always seem to have a knack for knowing what’s best.

Even despite all those tumultuous years of dressing you in the ugliest, brightest neon hand-me-downs, and even through the times she had you sobbing at the piano, yelling at you until you played your recital piece perfectly so as not to bring dishonour to the family name – in the end, she might have been onto something.

Moms also definitely know a thing or two about how to serve up a mean grilled cheese sandwich and you don’t have to go much farther than the corner of West Georgia and Howe to get your proof.

The start of November brings more than just day old Halloween candies, it also means one other crucial thing – comfort food.

On the mission to name the Top 3 Comfort Foods of All Time, I’ve narrowed it down and to make it as an all-star comfort food, it’s gotta have three things.

  1. It’s gotta have carbohydrates.
  2. It needs to be warm.
  3. It has to be rich and creamy.

With all three of these very necessary components, there’s no other contender like the winning combination of grilled cheese and tomato soup to take the Number 3 spot.

If what you’re after is a cheese griller and a cuppa, Mom’s Grilled Cheese Truck is the way to go.  On the perfect crisp fall day with the sun shining strong, the cheese gods had my back today.

Make sure you click the video above to get a glimpse of this in action!

mom's cheese3

Once you’ve found your way to the truck, the process is simple:

  1. Pick Your Bread
  2. Pick Your Cheese
  3. Pick your Extras

Today was the day for Marbled Rye, Harvarti, and Dill Pickles.  If you’re a pickle lover, for the love of dill listen up because you’re gonna want write this down.

My friends, ask mom to slice and sprinkle the pickle throughout the sandwich and you are in for a real treat.

But what happens when the soup special is Roasted Tomato with Mozzarella and the sandwich of the day is Ham and Cheddar Cheese on Sourdough?

You get one of each of course.

The Waiting Game comes next.  It’s gotta be the worse game ever invented in the world history of games, but today, Mom eases my anxiety with free samplings of her special ginger tea.

A few moments later, my sandwich is ready.

“Hey, Meaghan!”

“Hi!”

When she hands over my toasty gooey grilled cheese with such friendly service, it sure feels like something close to family.

momscheese

A warm bundle of buttery bread, I tear into my first sandwich, the ham and cheddar on sourdough.  Oozing cheese surrounds the ham and holds everything together like the perfect little package.  Beautifully browned, the bite of the bread cuts the salt from the ham and and cheese to make for a delightful combination.

mom's cheese2

In the mood for a little dill, I make my way over to sandwich number 2.  A long time bona fide lover of pickles, I don’t know how I’ve gone my entire life with dill-less cheese grillers but now that I’ve seen the light, I’m never going back.

The tang from the pickles adds such a refreshing element to my soft sandwich and combined with a zesty crunch, I can’t stop.  I won’t stop.  La da di da di.  I like to party.

mom's cheese3

No grilled cheese sandwich experience is complete though without a steaming cup of tomato soup.  As if I haven’t had enough cheese yet, my soup is loaded with shredded melted mozzarella that adds a lovely richness to my thick and hearty tomato.

A vibrant red and with little salt, it has a clean, fresh taste that makes for the perfect accompaniment and if you’re someone who’s ever eaten, you know that the only way to eat this is to dunk your griller in your soup.  The savouriness of the sandwich lends itself to the tomato and it’s a match made in cheese heaven.

Would I return?

Yes, Mother.

At $27 for two hefty sandwiches, extra pickles, some crunch Hardbite chippies, a large cup of soup, and a root beer, I’m rolling home one happy cheese ball.

With frostier weather approaching, it might be hard to find a place to eat your lunch, but keep calm and cheese on because once you find your way inside with this grilled cheese and tomato duo, you’ll know why this is Number 3 our my list of Top Comfort Foods of All Time.

Mom's Grilled Cheese Truck on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “Mom Knows Best (Mom’s Grilled Cheese Truck)

  1. Pingback: Leave No Noodle Behind (Hokkaido Ramen Santouka) | MsElephantHeart

Leave a Reply

