Do You Hate Me? (JapaDog)

Can we still be friends after I say what I’m about to say?

I liked my Japadog, but I didn’t love it.  There I said it, it’s off my chest and I only hope that tonight I’ll finally be able to get a good night’s sleep.

It’s a truth universally known that if there’s any day you deserve to buy your lunch, it’s Friday because if making it through yet another work week doesn’t call for an excessively greasy meal, I’m not sure what does.

Throwing all weight gain caution to the wind, I figured I’d at least save money by buying myself a hot dog from the Japanese food truck a block away.

Wrong.  So wrong.

There I stood beneath the canopy surveying my dog choices – Teriymayo, Oroshi, Okonomi, Negimiso, Spicy Cheese, the list goes on – only to realize my hot dog would be setting me back $7.

Seven.  Dollars.  Whatever happened to the good old days when I could get a wiener for $3.50?  Those days are gone.

After gawking at the menu for a good five minutes, it was too late to just walk away.  I had committed to the Japadog, and I’d rather be dead than known as a girl who just walks away from her sausage duties in life.

In the end, it was the Terimayo for me.

Japadog

Their signature dog, the Terimayo comes equipped with an all pork dog, fried onions, teriyaki sauce, mayo, and sprinkled with seaweed.

Sauce fiend that I am, I bravely, and not without great difficulty, resisted the urge to layer my dog with further condiments.

Please don’t misunderstand me, it’s not that I didn’t like it, because I did.

Yes, mayhaps part of the wiener lacked sufficient terimayo coverage, but when you chomped down into a bite where the sweetness of the fried onions, teriyaki sauce, and mayo all combined perfectly with the savoury meaty pork, it was a decent two seconds.

Unique and attractive no doubt, but I expected more bang for my buck.

Seven dollars and two and a half minutes later, my dog was gone.  Would I return?

I’m sorry to all of Vancouver, to the loyal citizens who revere the Almighty JapaDog, but it’s unlikely.

It’s good, but it’s not that good.

Japadog on Urbanspoon

5 thoughts on “Do You Hate Me? (JapaDog)

  1. Hmmm..$7. I’d pay that to try it every now and again but no, I probably wouldn’t feel that great about it. I’ve actually never tried it yet (I’m not cool, I know). There’s always Mr. TubeSteak

    I wish all girls would know their sausage duties as well as you.

Leave a Reply

