Take Me Away (Cinara)

Take me away, a secret place, a sweet escape, take me away.

Now it’s no secret that I’ve never been a cool girl but when we stumbled into Cinara on a blustery, stormy Wednesday night, I think I just might have been for a brief two hour window.  It was like I got a pocket, got a pocket full of sunshine, I got a love and I know that it’s all mine oh oh oh. Whoa.

Modern European cuisine is the spin in this intimate little bistro and strolling in for dinner is akin to being instantly whisked away to one of those cozy eateries that are so often tucked away like best kept secrets in all the best kept cities like New York and London.

Undoubtedly, a girl’s best date nights are always the nights spent in the company of another girl so where better to spend  such a night than a warmly lit restaurant complete with pleasant service and an open concept.  From the exposed brick walls, simply complicated light fixtures, and the rustic decorative cheese plates, Cinara was like a diamond in the rough.

As if just on the cusp of stardom and well on its way to becoming talk of the town, for now it was a quiet affair with only four or five other tables and that was just the way I liked it.

cinara

Burrata was also just the way I liked it.  The special for the day, Lady Fortuna must have been rooting for us because we were lucky enough to nab one of the last few remaining dishes.

A luscious creamy gob of burrata atop our balsamic drizzled roasted squash, peppery arugula, and walnuts was like a sweet breath of fresh summer air on a wet and dreary night.  So delicious in fact, I wished it had arrived as my meal instead of a starter.  C’est La Vie.

cinara2

Any decent ladies night involves at least some amount of excess and I can’t think of any better way than to add a touch, or more, of cream and parmesan.

While at first startling with its oat-like consistency, I gradually grew to enjoy the Creamed Farro with porcini mushrooms and parmesan, until it dawned on me that I had polished off more than half my share of this lovely, rich grain dish.

In what can only be logic, we ordered a side of Brussel Sprouts, Pancetta, and Mustard to balance out the night’s excesses.  Perfectly dressed, the tangy mustard and the savoury pancetta complemented the sprouts smoothly in such a lively way that any child would jump at the chance to devour these brussels.

cinara3

Fat chance with that though as that child would have to get past me first and I think we all know that when it comes to delicious food, it’s every man for himself.

Cheese, cream, and ladies are the markings of the best kinds of nights, but would I return?

Without a doubt.

Not a cheap eat by anyone’s definition with the burrata special at $16, the farro at $18, and $7 brussel sprouts, it is a delightful eat.  Add a glass of wine or two and you’d be surprised just how fast your money goes but I guess in life, sometimes you really do get what you pay for.

And especially while Cinara still feels like my little secret, the delicious food, good company, and nice wines will definitely keep me coming back.

Cinara on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

