SushiNO (Sushigo)

You think you know someone, you might even think you have a really good thing going but inevitably, it’s going to happen.  Something is going to change and no matter what you say or do, nothing – nothing – will ever be the same again.

Yes, I’m talking from personal experience.  And yes, it still hurts, but each day it gets a little easier.

I’m talking about Sushigo.  Never a fine purveyor of quality sushi I know this much, but was once upon a time a purveyor of edible sushi at affordable prices.

Sushi in Vancouver at affordable prices is not anything groundbreaking, but affordable sushi in the middle of Vancouver’s central business district sure is.  Located not far from Coal Harbour, this girl on a budget used to be able to grab herself a roll combo for $6.50.

sushiNO

A california roll,  tuna roll, and a salmon roll for under $7 is the definition of a Downtown steal but when I rolled in Saturday afternoon for a cost efficient lunch, I was in for a rude awakening.

Now priced at $7.95, that’s almost a $1.50 hike.  If my math serves me correctly (and I’ve made my ancestors proud), that’s a 22% increase in my cost of lunch – almost a whole 20% more than the Canadian inflation rate, and the cause of my stress induced indigestion.

So, would I return?

Exsqueeze me?

No. No. No. No. No. You don’t get to serve me mushy rice and questionable fish for $1.50 extra where the flies keep landing in my face and the tea isn’t even free.

Exsqueeze me?

Sushigo on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

