Dates and Gelato: That’s Amore. Part II (Gelateria Dolce Amore)

If pizza pies made my great sun ovens followed by giant gelato cones don’t say amore to you, than who can help you?  Nobody.  Nobody can help you.

IMG_20140311_175955

Even in the rain, the vibrant Commerical Drive neighbourhood with all its charming Italian restaurants and pervy old man coffee shops makes a quirky date spot.  Or if like me, you’re no good at dates, it’s also a great spot to shove heaping scoops of gelato into your face.  And that’s what I found myself doing at Dolce Amore on Saturday night after stuffing my face at Marcello’s.

Scurrying in five minutes to ten, Dolce Amore is about ready to close for the night and crumbling under pressure, I take a hurried glance at my options and ask to try the nocciola, completely unaware of what this even is.  Crisis averted though because one lick is all it takes.  Holy hazelnut!

“Nocciola in a cone, please.”

“How many scoops?”

“One scoop.  No, two.”  Reminded of the pizza I just inhaled, I reluctantly backpedal.   “Awe no, forget it, just one please.”

IMG_20140308_220053426

It must be my lucky day though because the angel behind the magic cream box scoops a massive mouthwatering heap of hazelnutty gelato the size of a newborn baby into a a cone and hands it to me.   The perfect way to end a pizza date, this gelato is the perfect amount of rich and creamy with an even more perfect amount of hazelnut flavour without being too sweet or overpowering.

With my dessert coming to just under $5, would I return?

Yesyesyesyesyesyes.  The only thing that could make Dolce better is pie.  Wait. A. Minute.  They. Have. Pie. Too?

You bet they do, and not only pie –  pie and cake.  I cannot believe it’s taken me 25  years to discover this place.  And now that the weather’s getting nicer,  it can only mean that Dolce and I are about to embark on a long and happy relationship that will likely make those in my nearby vicinity more than just slightly uncomfortable.

At the end of the day, you can’t help who you love.

Gelateria Dolce Amore on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Dates and Gelato: That’s Amore. Part II (Gelateria Dolce Amore)

  1. Pingback: Dates and Pizza Pies – That’s Amore. Part I (Marcello Pizzeria and Ristorante) | elephantheartblog

  2. Pingback: Dates and Pizza Pies – That’s Amore. Part I (Marcello Pizzeria and Ristorante) | Meg Food

Leave a Reply

